BIRDSWORTH

Life, being a wife, a mom and the joys and pains of city living.

Saturday, October 24, 2009

Pictures tell the story


The bridesmaids bouquets- the pic doesn't do it justice- I wanted to pack it but ended up leaving it behind :(




The penguins- E is obssessed with them since she got a sneak peek at Happy Feet




That's a penguin swimming as E waves




The Jellyfish




E was a little unsure about being so close




The variety was amazing




This was a rainbow glow jellyfish




This is a Leafy Seadragon- so amazing!!



Ella touching a Star Fish



Family Photo

Friday, October 23, 2009

White Wedding...with red lips!

This past week J, E and I flew out to J's sister's wedding.  Which was picture perfect!  But I'll get to that latter.  We flew out at the crack of dawn on Thursday, E was a pleasure on the flight.  And arrived in San Fran early afternoon.  We headed to J's sister's place in the mission and helped load up the car to take things to wedding location the Monterey Beach Resort .  We left a little on the late side and by the time we arrived at the hotel in Monterey E had been up for over 16 hours, without much food, and was completely delirous- I was kind of waiting for her head to spin off, thankfully it didn't and she went into a very deep sleep as soon as I set up the crib.  The hotel was a few yards from the ocean, you could throw a rock into  and hit the water from our balcony.  When I woke up the next morning to the sound of the ocean, I thought something must seriously be wrong with me for living anywhere else.
     We had a great breakfast at a local joint called The Breakfast Club - if you are ever in Monterey check them out- but be prepared to sit down and study the menu because they are used to regulars and come by to take your order within minutes of sitting down. Then we gathered a few items for the welcome bags for all the guests- I love putting together welcome bags/baskets! Then off to the rehearsal, but not until I went on a frantic search for an AT&T store to replace my iphone (first gen), not an easy thing when your iphone is down to fumble around a new city in search of a store- which had cracked months ago and finally succumbed to the humidity when we hit the beach.  Thank goodness I was successful, my iphone is like my right arm.  So off to the rehearsal, E was great- the first time- and then she discovered the beach!  She wandered around picking up every shell  and every piece of washed up kelp. But she was so cute everyone just laughed it off.  Then we hit a local park for dinner- which was great!  It was Mexican and a little on the spicy side, which for me was perfect! E just ran around with the cousins all of whom she adores.
     Wedding Day!!!  I had to head to the salon and then meet up with the ladies to get ready.  It's amazing how much time you can use to 'get ready'.  When the moment came everyone looked picture perfect!  J's sis looked like she had walked out of a 1930's photo shoot!  Every detail was perfect!  E and I walked down the sand aisle, she tried to stray and pick up a rock, but we made it down and managed to toss a few flower petals along the way.  The ceremony was perfect with touches of the happy couple throughout.  Then off to the reception which was on a terrace just above the beach wedding site- it overlooked Monterey and the ocean- so beautiful! When the sunset came it was just another perfect detail in a perfect day.  The sky was soaked in orange, pink, purple and blue. Everyone let out a collective gasp as the sunset unfolded.  As the party went on, E danced the night away!  She wouldn't even be bothered to have a bit of food!  J and I had to trick her to so that she would eat the smallest amount.  The entire weekend I fretted about the amount and quality of food she ate- we never went fast food but we came pretty close!    My mom was kind enough to fall asleep in our room with E while J and I partied with some sorely missed friends from AV.

The next morning despite the 4 glasses of very very cheap champagne I felt fine- thank goodness for partying expertise (thanks UVA)- hydrate!  My mom and I hit a Starbucks and Whole Foods and then we all headed to a delicious brunch on another beautiful day!  We managed to get a little lost on our way there- make sure you go right not left at the bend when going to Tarpy's Road House.  Then E and the cousins headed to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, which is amazing!!! We had so much fun E just ran from exhibit to exhibit.  Touching the starfish, being scared of jellyfish and falling in love with seahorses!   So cute!

We said goodbye to the cousins and headed for the 17 Mile Drive , which like everything in Monterey was breathtaking!  Then dinner with my mom and brother and a quick goodbye, we all had a long drive in the am before our flights.  Thank goodness E was great on the flight, and before our heads could hit our pillows J is off again for another week away!  And I'm already busy getting ready for E's 2nd birthday party which is on Halloween but the real date is the 23rd- can't believe my little baby is 2!!

Monday, October 12, 2009

Sick Day

Little E is sick today!! It's so sad.  She's still pretty active and in good spirits, but she's got a little cough and a stuffed up nose.  It's kinda messed up but she's so cute with a little cold!!  I find myself giving into her every whim-especially more TV watching.  But what are you supposed to do when you're sick?? And right now I'm sitting on the couch with her listening to her sing the alphabet with Abby Cadabby from Sesame Street- heart melting!


This is E watching Sesame Street with her pal the Monkey

I just hope she's better in the next few days.  We are flying to San Fran for J's sis' wedding next weekend.  And I'm not sure how I feel about flying with her of she's still got a cough- yes I'm totally over protective.  But I've also had pneumonia more times than I can count on two hands and I'm determined not to let that happen to her.  And I'm not an over sanitizer, I know that kind of stuff makes germs stronger and her immune system weaker- but I just want to use common sense.  I put in a call to E's doctor so we'll see what she says.  She also happened to get sick 2 days after her vaccines- I know correlation not causation, but I'm just a little suspect.... I'm getting her vaccinated, but sometimes I wonder what the long term effect is to our global immunity.  Oh, well!

Since E's sick today and I'm being a total push over and letting her watch way too much TV I thought I could use this time to catch up posting some pics.


This is E on the Prospect Park Carousel 








This is E practicing her flower girl duties in her dress.
The wedding is in 6 days so I'll need to get a another round of practice in pretty soon, I had hoped to have an audience but so far I haven't been able to get that together.










This is a little Wigwam right by Lefferts House
This place has so many activities for little ones.  If you are ever in Brooklyn, head to this part of the park, there's a Zoo, the botanic gardens, a boat house, it's awesome, and we live a few blocks from it!




I also wanted to post a link to an artist that lives in our nabe, PLG (Prospect Lefferts Garden).  His name is Daniel Goers and his work was so lovely we bought several pieces including the two toads, the three birds, and the snail.  We hope to fill our house with many more of his pieces of his work!  Enjoy!!




Sunday, October 11, 2009

A Little Artistic Pride

Last night I got to see a rough cut of the movie J shot this summer called Putty Hill . Although I am his wife, I'm usually pretty fair in my judgment of J's work, some things I like, other things aren't my speed.  After seeing the movie last I knew hands down that was his best work to date.  There is one scene which I felt like was a contemporary Merchant Ivory movie.  It was so beautiful and nostalgic that I actually shed a tear- and I never cry- we'll that's not true- but the last time I did E wasn't even crawling. I felt so proud!  Not because I did anything, but because the level of work I knew he was capable of is now out for others to see, oh the dignity robbing effects of advertising.  I felt like coming home and waking E up and saying, your dad is so talented, and I am so proud of him and I can't wait for you to see what he can do!! The night was magical.  It was just a small screening for people close to J and the director.  And we all gave notes on it, and everyone's notes were so minimal, and mostly had to do with sound design, which is never done in a rough cut anyway. I think everyone involved in making the movie should be so proud!
The director and his wife stayed with us this weekend, they are our last scheduled house guests for a while and it makes me really sad.  I'm really going to miss them.  We had a great night on Friday eating take out chinese, drinking a few bottles of wine and adult conversation.  We also ate in our dining room which is rare for us and something I really look forward to doing when E is older.  I always had dinner with my family at our dining room table, and I think it kept me connected to my parents even when that was the last thing I wanted to be.

Buzzy Bees!

The last few days have been very very busy!  Weddings, house guests, more house guests.  Playdates, School, Art fairs, brunches, you get the idea.  All very fun stuff.  But my god am I exhausted!! And to top it all off- I got into a car accident a little while ago and have been trying to see a doctor but the taxi cab's insurance carrier has just totally blown me off- like for a few weeks!  I've been taking advil almost everyday ( I never take pain medication ever, but this was the kind of nagging neck and back pain that made me mean to people so I had to make an exception)- but I know that can't be good for my liver- so I would like to get my neck and back fixed eventually.  Tracking down people in regards to insurance or medical information is basically a full time job and will make you sick!  But today I finally made some head way and have an appointment with a doc at Beth Isreal in Union Square.  So I'm actually excited to see this doctor!
J has been "off" this week from paid work but has been busy just catching up with regular old life so he's still been pretty busy.  And next week we are off to Cali for his sis' wedding so that's going to be fun!!  E is a flower girl and I am pretty nervous about her performance!  We've got to find time to practice, I know that doesn't mean the day of she'll be all set to perform but I want to do what I can to give this her best shot.  Speaking of which I have yet to get my dress altered! Of course it too small in the waist and too big the boobs- story of my life.  I think I'll just address the boob issue when getting it altered and suffer through not breathing for the ceremony.
But having J home has been nice I even managed to cook something twice now!!  The second time he actually requested it so I was very very pleased.  And I'm using the word cook very loosely, but here's what I made:
1 Large Onion Sauteed
1 bag baby Spinach Sauteed
2 Garlic Cloves sliced and Sauteed
Half a package of Pasta- Gemelli works the best but any will do
After the pasta has cooked I toss in 2 eggs and turn the heat on low
A generous hand full of grated mozzarella
A generous hand full of Parmeasean and Romano
And I tossed in some Fresh Oregano and Basil I had growing in my garden
 You just combine all of the ingreidents and viola!  That's it.

J really seemed to love it! He doesn't really request things often- or at all, so I felt pretty happy I finally made something her liked.  E has been loving school and her music together class.  I love our music class because there are 5 different languages spoken!  While New York is very diverse in general our old nabe, Park Slope, was pretty homogeneous.  Since I'm bi-racial  E is too, I want her to grow up with a diverse group of friends.  So it's a really great feeling to look around her class and think of a Beneton ad!Of course it's more about the person rather than the color or ethnicity- but I was surprised to be a part of more one conversation where people would say really racist things because they assumed I was white.  Actually that has happened quite often.  And I just want to raise E in a like minded community.

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Finding Nemo and Saving Myself

Today was sooo much better. E listened, and really was so sweet.  My sitter called in sick and I was worried I wouldn't get anything done, but E was so patient and just hung in there even when I knew she was tired or hungry (I had to clean out her closet and drawers).  And when we took a walk with the dogs she just hung by me and didn't try to run away even once!  I was so relieved.  I promised her that if she was good today we would watch, "Finding Nemo" before bed, and I guess that was the magic bullet.  She sat through the whole thing and was an angel at bed time.  Thank you, thank you, thank you for today- because man I needed it!
I also wanted to recap the weekend.  E and her little buddy L had the best play date I've seen her have ever.  She and her little buddy played together so well, L's mom and I were pretty speechless.  There was no tug of war over toys and they just really seemed to enjoy being together.  L's mom and are thinking of making this a regular thing.  On Saturday J and I had an awesome wedding, our neighbors have been together for 10 years and have 2 kids together.  They decided to get married and it was a beautiful ceremony.  It was nice to go out again with J sans child.  A rare occasion and we both enjoyed it.  One complaint, since J is a cinematographer he kinda disappears to take photo/video of the event. I'm pretty used to it at this point but I always end up being the third wheel to another couple for the night- so I'm thinking of bringing a date to our next occasion.  For the rest of the weekend J and I just watched Mad Men at any chance we had, we are behind a season so we were playing catch up.  I am obsessed with the show!  It's hard to explain, but part of me wishes we were still functioning in a time when roles where so defined by gender- and that's strange for me to say because I consider myself a feminist.  But sometimes it's all too exhausting!  I just want a script to follow and know the role I'm playing. But on second thought the minute J came home and expected anything- things would get ugly!  Anyhow I do love the show.   And I can't wait to get up to date with this season.
Other than that I am so behind on sending out wedding and "new baby" gifts to people.  I'm going to attempt a dig in tomorrow and also try to gets E's 2nd birthday invites in the mail.  She turns 2 in about a month!! We're having a costume party- can't wait to see all the little ones in their halloween costumes!! Oh, but so much to do between now and then, and then there's the house.... still not finished!

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Sugar and Spice, sometimes not so nice....

Today I was the TA for E's class, each parent helps out one day a month.  The start of the day was kinda hectic.  I had to get E ready, feed her, walk the dogs, and move the car- one of the pains in the butt of living in the city, alternate side parking for street cleaning.  The TA also has to bring a snack- and of course I can't bring anything pre made.  But I found a great recipe for homemade granola bars.  The prep time was really fast- bakes in 30 minutes and the kids loved it!!  I found it here, toddler snack recipes.  So class went great!  The kids are all really cute and really everyone was well behaved.  E went to the teacher with a felt triangle and said, "Triangle"  the teacher went to the easel and drew a triangle and E came up behind her and said, "Triangle, three sides."  Needless to say I was soooooo proud!! The teacher looked at me and was speechless, she said that I had a little Einstein!  One of my proud mom moments- no matter how short lived.
The rest of class went off without a hitch.  But as soon as class was over, E started acting out, this is now part of the routine I guess.  She went and knocked over the blocks that she had just helped me stack up.  We made it out the door only for her to run away from me- in the city, and probably anywhere, this is really scary, people fly down the street doing 50 in a 25!  She knew she was supposed to come back to me but just laughed and kept running.  I sprint after her, pick her up and we head home.  We get to the house, and another melt down, not sure exactly what happened but she wasn't happy about something and decides to fall to the floor in the middle of the foyer screaming and kicking.  She gets up and we head out to walk the dogs- only to have her run away again.  A neighbor walking down the street hears the building anger in my voice as I yell after her and decides to help out.  So he walks her home and she walks very nicely for him.  I try to hold her hand to walk with me the rest of the way, only to have her wrestle free a few moments later and run into someone's front yard to step all over their flowers!! She totally knows better than this and was looking at me with an- "FU mommy!!"  look!  I almost lost my cool!  I threw down the dog leashes and picked her up like a sack and carried her under my arms the rest of the way home.  I gave her some silent treatment and when she eventually took notice we had a talk.  She always seems to get it when I sit down face to face with her, but I never really know if it sinks in!  She said, "Sorry mommy." and we hugged- it's so sweet to make up with such a cutie.  We were late for her nap but she still had to have lunch.  So we moved on and made a bagel.  Nap time, no problem and she woke up in a great mood.  We head out to music class, all is well, she's great, playful, cute like she normally is. But as soon as class is over, the cuteness stops.  She starts acting up again and so we head home.  I get her home and start dinner, I give her a glass of milk and when she's done with it, she tosses the glass, yes it's glass not plastic, onto the floor.  This is the second glass in 3 days that she's broken.  I know some of it's my fault because I give her glass and not plastic, but she's never broken them before and has been pretty good about handling breakables.  And I'm kind of a stickler for table manners and "real" dishes.   But I almost lost my cool again and had to take a moment.  Turbo tried to eat the glass on the floor- she thought it was food, poor thing is blind and deaf.  So I had to work quickly, and in the meantime E is trying to get out of her high chair whining for yogurt.  I love E with all my heart but when she whines, I want to run from the house screaming!  So I'm on the floor, with bare feet, we have a no shoes policy in the house, cleaning up glass trying to get Turbo to stop going after the glass and having E shout for yogurt.  Hmm, did I mention I'm going to Miami alone in November.  Glass cleaned up, no blood, and I hand E a yogurt. I turn to get a napkin and when I turned back around E has poured the yogurt into her lap. I take the yogurt and walk into the dining room and sit down.  Of course J's on a jog.  Not that he shouldn't be, he worked all day and has been working non stop, but I need a break!! Seriously!  Of course E still wants some yogurt, so I get her another and sit with her.  I thought about not letting her have another but if she doesn't have a full belly she won't sleep through the night.  I loose either way. I sit down with her and she says sorry again and gives me a nice messy hug, I'm a total sucker.  She finishes without incident and we head up for a very fun bath time.  Oh, I almost forgot the best part!  Just before we get into the bath she asks to sit on the potty. She sits a few times and 'toots' but the last go she does a little poo!!! So proud!  After bath we settle in to read some books, about halfway through she says she needs to use the potty again.  After such a long day I kinda just wanted to get her into bed, so I asked if she really needs to go and she says yes.  So off with the pj's and diaper and another go on the potty, and she peed!!  I was so proud, again!! And she played it so cool, like, 'no biggie mom, let's get back to the book.'  So back to The Foot Book by Dr. Seuss.  We finish up with My Friends by Taro Gomi, one of her favorites.  A little nurse and then she asks for the crib. A kiss and then off to bed.  Phew!! I think we are officially entering "The Two's".  I think I'll earn every wrinkle....

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Another Day another Poo!


So I woke up today with a list of things that I had to get done that seemed pretty impossible.  And Turbo had other plans for me from the start.  J left for a shoot at 6 am and I thought I would get an early start as well.  So I'm up showered and dressed by 7:30 am. E's still asleep.  So I head downstairs and lo and behold  Turbo, asleep in another pile of poo!! Seriously she's never down this- and now twice within 7 days!!! I took a deep breath, grabbed some gloves and cleaning supplies and dug in.  Of course E wakes up as I'm just getting started.  So I had to make an executive decision and finish with the clean up- but I decided to wait on Turbo's bath since she was waiting outside.  15 minutes later I'm pretty much done- I have the clean up down to a science.  Off to pick up E- who is particularly upset at the wait she's endured.  Kay- our sitter comes in and takes E so I can head outside to give Turbo her second bath in less than 7 days.  At least she smells great.  Among my items 'to do' today are finishing guest gift baskets for our friends wedding.  For some reason I love going out and thinking of and buying items that I think people from out of town would enjoy.  Since I was only making 4 I could think a little bit bigger.  I snuck in a little item from the movie J did- not exactly high brow but I thought it would be fun for people to open up and think WTF?  The rest just items like tissues, Tate's Chocolate Chip Cookies(the best), lotion, body wash, mints, lollipops, water, granola bars, gum, Emergen-C, Airborne, Chapstick, organic anti-bacterial wipes (no super germs please)... you get the idea!



In between runs to the Slope, Fairway and Ikea I chatted with a few neighbors.  We are finally getting an Italian Food restaurant and I can't tell you how excited I am!! Our nabe is great but like I mentioned before we lack a few things- one major thing is restaurants! So I spoke with a neighbor of ours who writes really great cook books and thought he'd know some good chefs to head up the new place.  I am also trying to get a Whole Foods to come into our neck of the woods!!  So I harassed another neighbor who has been here for a while and knows the ropes and he also happens to be in real estate.  I ended the day pretty late- but almost got everything done. Tomorrow another day of school for E- hopefully we won't be late again!  Then we get some house guests for the weekend, off to the wedding on Saturday and prepare for J to be gone for another week of work.  Even thinking of the weekend feels like a blink. Oh to be at the beach again!  At this rate the year will fly by and it will be summer again before I know it!

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Is Monday over already!

So this weekend flew by!  Brunches, a ton of birthday parties with more to come.  Husband returns oh wait he's in his office working so kinda sorta not really.  Someone's gotta do it, so thanks honey!  I think I broke my foot.  I'm only half joking.  I fell off a step directly onto the side of my foot early last week.  I thought it was getting better but for the past three days putting weight on it makes the whole thing feel numb.  Hopefully I'll get around to getting an X-Ray this week- not like they can do anything for a broken foot so maybe I won't and instead use the 5 hours I would have to wait in an ER to get a manicure and take a nap. I finally booked my trip to Miami- my first trip away from E since she was born.  I'm so excited and also terrified.  Not really worried about J being able to handle it- more about me being able to handle it.  But I'm going with a friend from VA and I know we are going to have a great time- we always do even if we are stuck in the house with 4 kids- she's a pro!  Tomorrow E has school again and it's a little sad at how excited I am for her.  She just loves it so much I feel like I love it that much.  Last week they did a leaf study so today we went down our block and into the park collecting all sorts of leaves- E is also is addicted to acorns so she picked up a few of those too.  We have a few dozen that she won't let me pitch.  While we were on our stroll E kept saying Bumble Bee.  I finally looked at her doodle pad and saw something that slightly resembled a bumble bee.  For those of you who don't know I have a not so secret fantasy that E is an art prodigy- not from me I can't draw a stick figure.  So far she's drawn a pretty decent duck, a scary looking fish and now this bee.  You be the judge...






I'm not going to go all pageant mom on her.  But maybe she's going to be an amazing artist and show at the MOMA when she's five :)  Or maybe she'll just have awesome some doodles. I'll love her either way;)

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Ah, what a beautiful day!

This morning I awoke with beautiful sunshine peeking into a corner of my room.  When I actually opened up my eyes I saw not a cloud in the sky, just blue.  I've always  liked to lay in bed for a while to just think- thankfully E doesn't get up until 30-40 minutes after I do- yes I'm blessed and should never complain about anything ever.  This morning I thought about the blog and why I'm doing it and what I have to say, and why in the world would anyone besides me ever care.  And really I didn't have a good answer.  In fact, I'm pretty terrified that there would be someone else who would read this and pass some sort of judgement.  Secretly I care way to much about what other people think- one of my many flaws.  I'll get back to this later but for now- more about the morning.  E woke up a few minutes later and said, "I want mommy."  Pretty good sentence for not even 2 years old!  She's always happy in the morning.  I went into her room and picked her up and then back into my room for our morning nurse, yes I'm still nursing and will continue to nurse(thank you to G's doctor for the phrasing).  That's one topic I really don't care if people pass judgement on. Besides I live in Brooklyn as some mother told me at the playground the other day- no one cares.  So E likes to play in our bed- throwing pillows and flopping around.  Since J's still gone we send him a morning picture.  E's always been obsessed with my iPhone and taking pictures has become increasingly difficult- so the one this morning was of her sobbing because she wanted to play with my phone.  Still pretty cute.





We can't lay about for too long because the dogs have to go out first thing or I will pay dearly.  Oops!  Too late!  The picture perfect morning was abruptly halted when I stepped into the kitchen- first welcomed by the all too familiar smell of dog poo, followed by the image of Turbo- the 14 year old Aussie- happily asleep in a pile of her own poo and pee.  We've managed to curb these accidents in the house by walking the dogs very very very late.  But being alone, and sick last night I just couldn't do it- so I guess this is all technically my fault:(  Then on to cleaning up this shitty mess.   I kick Turbo out in the back yard to await her bath.  Lock E out of the kitchen grab a nice big roll of Bounty paper towels- we used to use the recycled ones but they just don't cut it-sorry trees, then some 7th generation multi surface cleaner and then when it's all done I sprinkle a little bit of good old fashioned bleach (it is the kitchen floor I'm cleaning) and do the finalwipe down.  Normally I much more stressed out about this happening but today I wasn't.  Then off to the back yard to give Turbo and bath (thank god we had a hot water pipe brought outside or poor Turbo would've been an icicle.)  That was nice and quick and then the whole family, including E's mama and baby fox in their mini stroller out for a walk.  And it wasn't even 8:30 am. 



I have kind of an issue with wanting E to eat first thing and the only thing she'll eat consistently are pancakes (smart girl she's trained me well).  So we both have some pancakes- of course the pancake situation is not doing me any favors.  And then a very nice surprise call from my friend who just moved to our nabe- so excited.  They have a little girl about 6 months older than E.  So they walked over and the girls played- I love having play dates at our place because you can actually talk to the other mom!  At the playground you just watch like a hawk to make sure your child hasn't a) been abducted b) broken their neck or  c) broken any other child's neck. So it was really nice and I can't wait for this to be a regular thing.  But I didn't get E down for her nap early like I planned so I'm pretty sure we will miss one of the birthday parties today- no sweat there will be others.  Today is just too nice to be worried about anything.  Which is a welcome change from my norm.   J will be home today- I think he had a pretty tough week so we'll probably just stay home and actually that's pretty much what I like doing these days- yep I'm getting old and I kinda like it.

Friday, September 18, 2009

Walk around the Block

 So today E decided that we would walk the other way around the block for the dogs evening stroll. I wasn't too sure how far we would actually get since Turbo is on her last leg.  When she stops to take a pee or poop I have to make sure she's properly perched on her front legs or else she'll fall in her, we'll you get the picture, and it's not pretty.  She's 14 years old and every morning I fear I'll walk into the kitchen and find her dead.  Actually I guess that's not such a bad way for her to go.  But back to the walk.  So we head towards Flatbush rather then Bedford, which is our regular route.  E's pushing her stuffed fox in her baby sized stroller.  E is in the phase of stopping and waving at everyone we pass on the street so to go a few feet takes quite a bit of time.  Much to Sampson's dismay.  By the time we got around to the next block 35 minutes had already passed. One good thing (and there and many not so good things I'm sure I'll share in the future) about our new nabe is that it is really friendly- much friendlier than our old one. About half way down the block some kids were playing on the stoop- and their mom was hanging out with them.  E wanted to play with them, even though they were much older. As the mom and I start talking E started to infiltrate the older kids and then of course didn't want to leave but I guess that's the almost 2 year old will developing.  I chatted with my neighbor for about 45 minutes and by the time I got the herd home it was basically E's bed time.  I'm not too good with getting her to bed on time these days but I'm willing to forgive myself for that.  Next challenge getting her to eat.  Yes, she's one of those.  Actually that's not really fair, sometimes she eats and ton and other times I have to hold my breath and pray that she will not refuse the buffet I end up making her in hopes she eats something.  So yesterday I made a veggie lasagna, E's a pescetarian too for now, and we talked about her eating it for dinner on our 2 hour walk around the block.  So I heated it up, cut it up and served it up- and of course it was refused.  She wanted yogurt, except not, then raviolis- seriously how different is this from lasagna? But of course I jumped through another hoop in hopes that she would eat something.  The raviolis did it, then she asked for oranges- which I'm out of because she ate 7 yesterday! I saved the night by having a really ripe pear on hand.  Then onto a yogurt, we finished the night with some dancing and a bath.  When we headed to the bath she kept asking for her buddy that we vacationed with at the beach- so cute to think of her thinking of her little friends! This weekend J will come back- it's been a tough week being a single parent and getting over a cold, but I'm on the mend and tonight I'm catching up on Project Runway- J will be so happy he doesn't have to sit through this.  Tomorrow a birthday party and then two more on Sunday- now that E's really into her little buddies it should be so much fun to watch her socialize.