BIRDSWORTH

Life, being a wife, a mom and the joys and pains of city living.

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Ah, what a beautiful day!

This morning I awoke with beautiful sunshine peeking into a corner of my room.  When I actually opened up my eyes I saw not a cloud in the sky, just blue.  I've always  liked to lay in bed for a while to just think- thankfully E doesn't get up until 30-40 minutes after I do- yes I'm blessed and should never complain about anything ever.  This morning I thought about the blog and why I'm doing it and what I have to say, and why in the world would anyone besides me ever care.  And really I didn't have a good answer.  In fact, I'm pretty terrified that there would be someone else who would read this and pass some sort of judgement.  Secretly I care way to much about what other people think- one of my many flaws.  I'll get back to this later but for now- more about the morning.  E woke up a few minutes later and said, "I want mommy."  Pretty good sentence for not even 2 years old!  She's always happy in the morning.  I went into her room and picked her up and then back into my room for our morning nurse, yes I'm still nursing and will continue to nurse(thank you to G's doctor for the phrasing).  That's one topic I really don't care if people pass judgement on. Besides I live in Brooklyn as some mother told me at the playground the other day- no one cares.  So E likes to play in our bed- throwing pillows and flopping around.  Since J's still gone we send him a morning picture.  E's always been obsessed with my iPhone and taking pictures has become increasingly difficult- so the one this morning was of her sobbing because she wanted to play with my phone.  Still pretty cute.





We can't lay about for too long because the dogs have to go out first thing or I will pay dearly.  Oops!  Too late!  The picture perfect morning was abruptly halted when I stepped into the kitchen- first welcomed by the all too familiar smell of dog poo, followed by the image of Turbo- the 14 year old Aussie- happily asleep in a pile of her own poo and pee.  We've managed to curb these accidents in the house by walking the dogs very very very late.  But being alone, and sick last night I just couldn't do it- so I guess this is all technically my fault:(  Then on to cleaning up this shitty mess.   I kick Turbo out in the back yard to await her bath.  Lock E out of the kitchen grab a nice big roll of Bounty paper towels- we used to use the recycled ones but they just don't cut it-sorry trees, then some 7th generation multi surface cleaner and then when it's all done I sprinkle a little bit of good old fashioned bleach (it is the kitchen floor I'm cleaning) and do the finalwipe down.  Normally I much more stressed out about this happening but today I wasn't.  Then off to the back yard to give Turbo and bath (thank god we had a hot water pipe brought outside or poor Turbo would've been an icicle.)  That was nice and quick and then the whole family, including E's mama and baby fox in their mini stroller out for a walk.  And it wasn't even 8:30 am. 



I have kind of an issue with wanting E to eat first thing and the only thing she'll eat consistently are pancakes (smart girl she's trained me well).  So we both have some pancakes- of course the pancake situation is not doing me any favors.  And then a very nice surprise call from my friend who just moved to our nabe- so excited.  They have a little girl about 6 months older than E.  So they walked over and the girls played- I love having play dates at our place because you can actually talk to the other mom!  At the playground you just watch like a hawk to make sure your child hasn't a) been abducted b) broken their neck or  c) broken any other child's neck. So it was really nice and I can't wait for this to be a regular thing.  But I didn't get E down for her nap early like I planned so I'm pretty sure we will miss one of the birthday parties today- no sweat there will be others.  Today is just too nice to be worried about anything.  Which is a welcome change from my norm.   J will be home today- I think he had a pretty tough week so we'll probably just stay home and actually that's pretty much what I like doing these days- yep I'm getting old and I kinda like it.

No comments:

Post a Comment