BIRDSWORTH

Life, being a wife, a mom and the joys and pains of city living.

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Sugar and Spice, sometimes not so nice....

Today I was the TA for E's class, each parent helps out one day a month.  The start of the day was kinda hectic.  I had to get E ready, feed her, walk the dogs, and move the car- one of the pains in the butt of living in the city, alternate side parking for street cleaning.  The TA also has to bring a snack- and of course I can't bring anything pre made.  But I found a great recipe for homemade granola bars.  The prep time was really fast- bakes in 30 minutes and the kids loved it!!  I found it here, toddler snack recipes.  So class went great!  The kids are all really cute and really everyone was well behaved.  E went to the teacher with a felt triangle and said, "Triangle"  the teacher went to the easel and drew a triangle and E came up behind her and said, "Triangle, three sides."  Needless to say I was soooooo proud!! The teacher looked at me and was speechless, she said that I had a little Einstein!  One of my proud mom moments- no matter how short lived.
The rest of class went off without a hitch.  But as soon as class was over, E started acting out, this is now part of the routine I guess.  She went and knocked over the blocks that she had just helped me stack up.  We made it out the door only for her to run away from me- in the city, and probably anywhere, this is really scary, people fly down the street doing 50 in a 25!  She knew she was supposed to come back to me but just laughed and kept running.  I sprint after her, pick her up and we head home.  We get to the house, and another melt down, not sure exactly what happened but she wasn't happy about something and decides to fall to the floor in the middle of the foyer screaming and kicking.  She gets up and we head out to walk the dogs- only to have her run away again.  A neighbor walking down the street hears the building anger in my voice as I yell after her and decides to help out.  So he walks her home and she walks very nicely for him.  I try to hold her hand to walk with me the rest of the way, only to have her wrestle free a few moments later and run into someone's front yard to step all over their flowers!! She totally knows better than this and was looking at me with an- "FU mommy!!"  look!  I almost lost my cool!  I threw down the dog leashes and picked her up like a sack and carried her under my arms the rest of the way home.  I gave her some silent treatment and when she eventually took notice we had a talk.  She always seems to get it when I sit down face to face with her, but I never really know if it sinks in!  She said, "Sorry mommy." and we hugged- it's so sweet to make up with such a cutie.  We were late for her nap but she still had to have lunch.  So we moved on and made a bagel.  Nap time, no problem and she woke up in a great mood.  We head out to music class, all is well, she's great, playful, cute like she normally is. But as soon as class is over, the cuteness stops.  She starts acting up again and so we head home.  I get her home and start dinner, I give her a glass of milk and when she's done with it, she tosses the glass, yes it's glass not plastic, onto the floor.  This is the second glass in 3 days that she's broken.  I know some of it's my fault because I give her glass and not plastic, but she's never broken them before and has been pretty good about handling breakables.  And I'm kind of a stickler for table manners and "real" dishes.   But I almost lost my cool again and had to take a moment.  Turbo tried to eat the glass on the floor- she thought it was food, poor thing is blind and deaf.  So I had to work quickly, and in the meantime E is trying to get out of her high chair whining for yogurt.  I love E with all my heart but when she whines, I want to run from the house screaming!  So I'm on the floor, with bare feet, we have a no shoes policy in the house, cleaning up glass trying to get Turbo to stop going after the glass and having E shout for yogurt.  Hmm, did I mention I'm going to Miami alone in November.  Glass cleaned up, no blood, and I hand E a yogurt. I turn to get a napkin and when I turned back around E has poured the yogurt into her lap. I take the yogurt and walk into the dining room and sit down.  Of course J's on a jog.  Not that he shouldn't be, he worked all day and has been working non stop, but I need a break!! Seriously!  Of course E still wants some yogurt, so I get her another and sit with her.  I thought about not letting her have another but if she doesn't have a full belly she won't sleep through the night.  I loose either way. I sit down with her and she says sorry again and gives me a nice messy hug, I'm a total sucker.  She finishes without incident and we head up for a very fun bath time.  Oh, I almost forgot the best part!  Just before we get into the bath she asks to sit on the potty. She sits a few times and 'toots' but the last go she does a little poo!!! So proud!  After bath we settle in to read some books, about halfway through she says she needs to use the potty again.  After such a long day I kinda just wanted to get her into bed, so I asked if she really needs to go and she says yes.  So off with the pj's and diaper and another go on the potty, and she peed!!  I was so proud, again!! And she played it so cool, like, 'no biggie mom, let's get back to the book.'  So back to The Foot Book by Dr. Seuss.  We finish up with My Friends by Taro Gomi, one of her favorites.  A little nurse and then she asks for the crib. A kiss and then off to bed.  Phew!! I think we are officially entering "The Two's".  I think I'll earn every wrinkle....

No comments:

Post a Comment