BIRDSWORTH

Life, being a wife, a mom and the joys and pains of city living.

Friday, September 18, 2009

Walk around the Block

 So today E decided that we would walk the other way around the block for the dogs evening stroll. I wasn't too sure how far we would actually get since Turbo is on her last leg.  When she stops to take a pee or poop I have to make sure she's properly perched on her front legs or else she'll fall in her, we'll you get the picture, and it's not pretty.  She's 14 years old and every morning I fear I'll walk into the kitchen and find her dead.  Actually I guess that's not such a bad way for her to go.  But back to the walk.  So we head towards Flatbush rather then Bedford, which is our regular route.  E's pushing her stuffed fox in her baby sized stroller.  E is in the phase of stopping and waving at everyone we pass on the street so to go a few feet takes quite a bit of time.  Much to Sampson's dismay.  By the time we got around to the next block 35 minutes had already passed. One good thing (and there and many not so good things I'm sure I'll share in the future) about our new nabe is that it is really friendly- much friendlier than our old one. About half way down the block some kids were playing on the stoop- and their mom was hanging out with them.  E wanted to play with them, even though they were much older. As the mom and I start talking E started to infiltrate the older kids and then of course didn't want to leave but I guess that's the almost 2 year old will developing.  I chatted with my neighbor for about 45 minutes and by the time I got the herd home it was basically E's bed time.  I'm not too good with getting her to bed on time these days but I'm willing to forgive myself for that.  Next challenge getting her to eat.  Yes, she's one of those.  Actually that's not really fair, sometimes she eats and ton and other times I have to hold my breath and pray that she will not refuse the buffet I end up making her in hopes she eats something.  So yesterday I made a veggie lasagna, E's a pescetarian too for now, and we talked about her eating it for dinner on our 2 hour walk around the block.  So I heated it up, cut it up and served it up- and of course it was refused.  She wanted yogurt, except not, then raviolis- seriously how different is this from lasagna? But of course I jumped through another hoop in hopes that she would eat something.  The raviolis did it, then she asked for oranges- which I'm out of because she ate 7 yesterday! I saved the night by having a really ripe pear on hand.  Then onto a yogurt, we finished the night with some dancing and a bath.  When we headed to the bath she kept asking for her buddy that we vacationed with at the beach- so cute to think of her thinking of her little friends! This weekend J will come back- it's been a tough week being a single parent and getting over a cold, but I'm on the mend and tonight I'm catching up on Project Runway- J will be so happy he doesn't have to sit through this.  Tomorrow a birthday party and then two more on Sunday- now that E's really into her little buddies it should be so much fun to watch her socialize.

No comments:

Post a Comment